Must See

Enthusiastic young cattle handlers converge on Qld heifer show

Cattle evaluation, clipping demonstrations and meat judging were all on the program at the Queensland annual Hereford Heifer Show.

Held at Clifton Showgrounds on July 1-3 2016, the event drew 63 competitors aged from eight to 23, parading 83 head of cattle.

Herefords Queensland Youth Association president Kate Reid said the event attracted many school students competing with borrowed animals.

Miss Reid said the program featured workshops on beef cattle nutrition, reproduction, clipping, judging and carcase judging.

Oliver Jeffery was awarded $600 as the 2016 Queensland Youth Ambassador while grand champion parader was Bailey Gardner, with Isabel Glasser in reserve.

Charlie Sides was grand champion junior judge and Oliver Jeffery in reserve.

Mitchell Dundas was awarded grand champion public speaker with Alex Rankin taking out the reserve, and Meg Reid was grand champion herdsman with Isabel Glasser reserve.

Thornleigh Constance L34 was led by Rueben Archer to champion junior heifer with the reserve going to Jindalee Bonnie Mixer L042, led by Bailey Gardner.

Senior and grand champion heifer was presented to Binara Kalara Revona L044, handled by Delanie Holmes, and in reserve was Binara Prudence L048, with Chloe Taylor on the halter.

Binara Bob, led by Lachy Taylor, was sashed as the grand champion steer or heifer, with WRL Lola, led by Mitchell Portbury, in reserve.

Jindalee Labrador L058 was exhibited by Jessie Ryder to grand champion bull and in reserve was Jindalee Lazarus L038, led by Jack Lavender.

Thornleigh Constance H186, led by Hugo and Cilla Monie, was grand champion and supreme exhibit.

The incoming committee elected during the heifer show were Kate Reid as president, Anna Forrest as vice-president, Meg Reid as secretary, Jamie Hollis as treasurer.

Sub-committee members are Aleacea Nixon as sponsorship officer, Brooke Reid and Meg McKinlay as prizes officers, and Lachlan Taylor as activities officer.

Miss Reid paid tribute to the work and devotion to the committee and breed shown by retiring executive members Pat O’Leary and Kate Shooter.

The committee thanked gold sponsors Herefords Australia, Herefords Australia Youth and QCL; silver sponsors Landmark, GDL, Talbalba Herefords, Remolea Poll Herefords, Murray Weller, RAFF and Riverina Stock Feeds; and bronze sponsors The Cattle Shop, Dalrymple Herefords, Norco Rural, Millmerran Rural Agencies.

Class sponsors were Wararba Park Poll Herefords, Lambert Stud and Braelyn Herefords.

Most Popular

Newsletter Signup

To Top